EU to remove the UAE from tax haven blacklist

PUBLICATIONS / Articles / 2018 / EU to remove the UAE from tax haven blacklist

On 23rd January 2018, European Union finance ministers agreed that eight jurisdictions should be removed from the EU blacklist of tax havens, one month after the list was released.


The jurisdictions to be removed include Barbados, Grenada, the Republic of Korea, Macao, Mongolia, Panama, Tunisia, and the United Arab Emirates. The move is "following commitments made at a high political level to remedy EU concerns", as mentioned in the EU statement.


The move is in line with recommendations by EU tax experts, the ‘Code of Conduct Group’.

EU states resolved last month to draw up the blacklist in a bid to discourage the most aggressive tax dodging practices.


Jurisdictions that remain on the blacklist are American Samoa, Bahrain, Guam, the Marshall Islands, Namibia, Palau, Saint Lucia, Samoa, and Trinidad and Tobago.


Do you wish to stay informed?

Thank you for your interest in Freemont Group, the specialists in company formation, asset protection and legal and advisory . Feel free to contact us with any inquiry you might have. We will provide you with a free initial consultation, and a customized solution for your personal situation.